Aggressive Osage County DUI defense

Handling all Felony and Misdemeanor DUI Cases

Being charged with DUI (Driving While Intoxicated) can be one of the most frightening events of your life. Alcohol, illegal or prescription drugs can impair driving to an unsafe, unlawful level. Whatever the situation, you need an attorney as soon as possible to protect your legal rights. It's important to choose a DUI defense attorney whose primary practice is criminal and DUI defense. As important as criminal defense expertise, is the attention you receive from your DUI defense attorney. You want to choose a DUI defense lawyer who will take the time to get to know you, understand your case, fight tirelessly for your rights, and has your best interests in mind.

As an Osage County DUI defense attorney, it is my job to help those who are in the toughest of situations. I treat clients as I would expect to be treated by a DUI defense attorney, by being accessible and dedicated to my clients. I am an experienced Osage County DUI attorney, handling all misdemeanor and felony Osage County DUI defense cases.

All of my clients have direct cell phone access to me at all times, as should be the case when someone is facing serious criminal charges, like a DUI. My firm is not a crowded factory, and I do not take on hundreds of cases at a time. Rather, I am selective in who I choose to defend, which allows me to spend more time focusing on our individual clients. I have found this practice leads to better results and higher satisfaction for my clients. I will be happy to discuss your case with you. Call me today for a free consultation.

Any drunk driving or drug-related DUI charge is a serious matter, whatever the exact circumstances and wherever the arrest occurred. Please recognize that: Even the most basic first-offense Oklahoma DUI conviction can bring a sentence of up to one year in jail, a $1,000 fine plus hundreds in additional fees, driver's license suspension and more.

"Aggravating factors" such as a prior DUI conviction or the presence of a person under 18 in the vehicle dramatically increase the potential for a lengthy jail sentence and other life-changing penalties.

Special laws and penalties — including driver's license suspension for up to two full years — apply if you are arrested for DUI when you are under 21.

You have only 15 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing and/or a modified, limited driver's license through the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) can be charged against you several ways in Oklahoma. If you are arrested by a city or municipal (Osage County) police officer, the police officer has the option (subject to their department's policies) of charging you in the city court or in the state district court. If the DUI is filed in the city court, the penalties range from no jail time to 6 months jail time and/or a fine. If you are arrested by the Oklahoma Highway Patrol, a county deputy, the charge will be filed in the state district court.

If it is your first driving under the influence (DUI) offense and no one was injured, the DUI will be filed as a misdemeanor. Misdemeanor DUI carries a fine of up to $1000.00 and jail time of at least 10 days but not more than one year in the county jail. The sentence can be deferred resulting in no conviction or the jail time can be suspended. Although DUI is a serious charge, most people will not be required to do any jail time on a first time misdemeanor DUI offense, depending on the evidence the state has. This is just an estimate on how some cases can go, however, and not specific to your individual case. If you would like an assessment on your individual case, call me immediately for a free consultation.

 

Things to keep in mind if you are being investigated for a crime or have been arrested:

Immediately speak with an attorney regarding the situation and retain them if necessary. Ideally, this would be prior to making any statements to law enforcement. Always be polite and courteous with any law enforcement officer. It is important not to make any sudden movements and always keep your hands in sight. Do not interfere with the police or resist/touch an officer. Officers can misinterpret even innocent actions of this nature, and because of the dangers inherent to their job are forced to take precautionary, even deadly measures. Tense situations are always handled best by remaining calm and collected. Always ask if you are under arrest, and do not give a voluntary statement without speaking to an attorney. Most of us can recite the Miranda warnings by heart, or at least the beginning. While the Miranda warning informs you of your rights post-arrest, a voluntary statement made prior to arrest can still be used against you. Never discuss crimes you are being investigated for, or have been charged with anyone except your lawyer. Always be truthful with your attorney. Your attorney is your advocate and works for you.

Confidential criminal defense communications

The attorney-client privilege protects certain communications between a client and his or her lawyer. It exists to assure clients that the information they share with their attorney is confidential, and that their attorney cannot use that information to testify against them. This rule allows clients and potential clients the full confidence in the confidentiality of their conversations with their attorney. Attorneys need to know the entire story to adequately give advice and defend their clients or assess a case. This rule applies to clients and persons seeking to become clients. For your free confidential consultation, give me a call at (918)557-2600.